Atlantis rides above the waves

By Phil Plait | May 23, 2010 8:00 am

atlantis_iss

The Space Shuttle Atlantis will undock from the International Space Station for the last time Sunday at 11:22 a.m. EDT (15:22 UT), and is scheduled to land at Kennedy Space Center on May 26 at 08:48 ET (12:48 UT). This image was taken during the last scheduled mission of Atlantis, still attached to the ISS as it orbits over the ocean. You can watch how it go there, too: NASA has uploaded incredible video from cameras located on the solid rocket boosters during launch.

Image credit: NASA

CATEGORIZED UNDER: NASA, Pretty pictures, Space
ADVERTISEMENT

Comments are closed.

NEW ON DISCOVER
OPEN
CITIZEN SCIENCE
ADVERTISEMENT

Discover's Newsletter

Sign up to get the latest science news delivered weekly right to your inbox!

ADVERTISEMENT

See More

ADVERTISEMENT
Collapse bottom bar
+