Fake Facebook "Dislike" Button Leads to More Dislike

By Joseph Calamia | August 16, 2010 4:38 pm

facebookThey only wanted to show their disapproval. Friends eager to counterbalance all those Facebook “Likes” rushed to “Download the official DISLIKE button now” as received in a message. But, sadly, no dislike button was in store. Instead, installing the application provided users with several surveys and left their profiles vulnerable to spammer control. If there was ever a time to unleash their Dislike, this was it.

Yet, as Graham Cluley of the security firm Sophos told the BBC–mentioning a similar ploy that offered Facebookers the chance to see an anaconda vomiting up a hippo–such “survey scam” applications are nothing new:

“Anyone can write a Facebook app–these scams are constantly springing up.”

Perhaps Facebook should take note: Users were willing to sacrifice their security for the mere power to express negative feedback. Or, at least, the mere power to express negative feedback without typing.

Perhaps a compromise is in order? Unfortunately, a new Meh button application seems to need some tweaking. As in the Atlantic Wire:

Turns out, every time you click the “meh” button it registers your vote—allowing an individual user to “meh” something 10,000 times or more. That’s a lot of indifference.

Related Content:
Discoblog: Teen Sues Mom for Hacking His Facebook Account
Discoblog: Bulgarian Politician Punished for Playing Farmville During Budget Meetings
Discoblog: Are Happy Facebook Pics Proof That You Aren’t Depressed?
Discoblog: Desperate For Facebook Friends? Buy Some!
Discoblog: Computer Program Can “Out” Gay Facebook Users

Image: Facebook

CATEGORIZED UNDER: Technology Attacks!
  • http://www.zeldab.com Woody Zeldab

    Yeah, people have been requesting a “Dislike” button on Facebook for quite awhile. This scam, however, is nothing but proof of how gullible many of those people really are.
    First of all, Facebook will never add such a feature because it goes against the very fiber of its being. The “Like” button, after all, is Facebook’s cash cow, an incredibly powerful tool that enables the company to steal, compile, package and sell its unwitting users’ private information to marketers and advertisers.
    Worse, through the “Like” process, Facebook and other social-networking sites have thousands of third-party applications their users can install. Because it’s impossible to police them all, however, users of these applications run the risk of inadvertently installing spyware, nuisance adware, viruses or other malicious programs. These applications pose serious risks when it comes to identifying theft or even predatory behavior because they typically ask their users to share personal information with strangers.
    Wouldn’t it be great, then, if one could communicate, chat and share files, photos and video with friends, family and colleagues without having to give up all that information in the first place?
    When you join zeldaB, you have and maintain all your rights to privacy. You don’t give up anything. No gathering and selling information about you to advertisers; no monitoring your every move; no mandated public profiles that reveal far too much information about you; no hidden terms and conditions specifying that, when you join their community, you’re giving them the license to use any content that you post however they see fit.
    Want to know more? Visit http://www.zeldab.com.

NEW ON DISCOVER
OPEN
CITIZEN SCIENCE
ADVERTISEMENT

Discover's Newsletter

Sign up to get the latest science news delivered weekly right to your inbox!

Discoblog

Quirky, funny, and surprising science news from the edge of the known universe.
ADVERTISEMENT

See More

ADVERTISEMENT
Collapse bottom bar
+

Login to your Account

X
E-mail address:
Password:
Remember me
Forgot your password?
No problem. Click here to have it e-mailed to you.

Not Registered Yet?

Register now for FREE. Registration only takes a few minutes to complete. Register now »